IdeasForLifePaint Media

How Many Calories Is in a Tamale? The Borderline Cases and How to Call Them

One tamale contains 244 calories. That figure is a 140-gram tamale, the weight USDA assigns to a single item, at 174 calories per 100 grams, from the Food and Nutrient Database for Dietary Studies 2021–2023, published 31 October 2024 and still the current Survey Foods release in FoodData Central. The same 174 applies to beef, pork and chicken alike. A meatless corn tamale is 186 calories per 100 grams, or 260 calories at that same weight. The tamales documented in this article weigh between 71 and 166 grams and carry between 176 and 340 calories, which means the weight of the one in front of you, and the fat worked into its masa, decide your number more than the filling does.

What USDA weighed, and what it left off the scale

Every tamale entry in the Survey Foods release carries the same portion line: 1 item, any size = 140 grams. Three words in that line are doing damage. A banana-leaf tamal from Oaxaca and a supermarket corn-husk tamal both land on 140 grams, and both come back 244 calories.

The older Standard Reference record underneath it is more precise. Restaurant, Latino, tamale, pork, FDC ID 168067, lists one piece at 142 grams with refuse at 0 percent. Refuse is the field I read first on any certificate of analysis, before the nutrients, because it tells you what came off the sample before it reached the balance. Zero here means the husk was never on the balance at all. Those 142 grams are masa and filling and nothing else.

For a sense of what you are discarding: Rick Bayless's Basic Tamal Dough calls for an 8-ounce package of dried corn husks, 227 grams, to make 26 tamales. That is 8.7 grams of wrapper each, before you throw out the torn ones. Weigh a tamale still wrapped and you need to take that off.

Why USDA gives pork, beef and chicken tamales the same number

Five tamale entries sit in the 2021–2023 release, each with its own food code:

The four meat entries are not merely close. They are identical to two decimal places on every nutrient in the record: 7.38 grams of protein, 9.04 grams of fat, 15.80 grams of carbohydrate, 2.4 grams of fiber, 473 milligrams of sodium, 2.69 grams of saturated fat. Food does not behave that way. Databases do.

The reason sits in a field almost nobody opens. Each of those four entries is built from one input food, listed as SR Legacy item 36412, Restaurant, Latino, tamale, pork, at 100 grams, moisture change 0 percent. One laboratory analysis of one pork tamale, wearing four labels. The meatless entry is the only one built from something else, item 36411, Restaurant, Latino, tamale, corn.

I pulled all five records on a midweek evening with nothing booked, which is the only reason I opened the source-item field at all. On a working day you take the number and move on. Years ago I passed a honey lot that had been assembled to satisfy the exact test I was running, and a second method caught it months later, so every worksheet I open now starts with what the lot was worth. Value predicts adulteration, and provenance predicts everything else. USDA's chicken tamale figure is not an error. It is a pork tamale.

Chicken tamale vs pork tamale: the difference is smaller than the masa

Hold size and masa constant and the filling has far less room to move the total than the question assumes.

Bayless spreads about a quarter cup of batter per husk, which works out to 59 grams, and spoons in about a tablespoon and a half of filling. Measured against USDA's cup of diced cooked pork at 135 grams, that tablespoon and a half is 12.7 grams of meat.

Pork shoulder, lean and fat, roasted, is 292 calories per 100 grams (FDC 167844). Chicken breast, meat only, roasted, is 165 (FDC 171477). At 12.7 grams the pork filling comes to 37 calories and the chicken to 21. Sixteen calories divide them, and that is the widest honest gap on offer, since I have set the fattiest common pork cut against the leanest common chicken.

The lard in that same tamale's masa contributes 98 calories. It outweighs the entire pork-to-chicken swap six to one.

Supermarket labels appear to contradict this, and the contradiction is the useful part. Trader Joe's prints an identical 142-gram serving on its tamales. Pulled pork is 340 calories, chicken and cheese is 250 — a 90-calorie gap on the same package weight. Look at the panel and the gap resolves: carbohydrate is 27 grams against 28, so the masa load is the same, while fat is 21 grams against 12. Nine grams of fat account for 81 of those 90 calories. The pork tamale is not dearer because pork is pork. It is dearer because more fat travelled in with it, some rendered from the meat, some already in the dough.

How much lard is in the masa, and what that costs you

Two published recipes, two very different doughs. Bayless's Basic Tamal Dough uses 10 ounces of lard (283 grams) to 3½ cups of masa harina, which is 399 grams at USDA's cup weight of 114 grams (FDC 169694), and yields 26 tamales. MASECA's own Pork in Green Sauce Tamales uses 2½ cups of lard — 513 grams at USDA's 205 grams per cup (FDC 171401) — to 8 cups of masa harina, 912 grams, and yields 35 to 40 banana-leaf tamales.

Bayless runs 0.71 grams of lard per gram of flour. MASECA runs 0.56. At 902 calories per 100 grams, lard carries 64 percent of the calories in Bayless's dough and 58 percent in MASECA's. The corn is the minority partner in both.

| Tamale | Masa | Lard in that masa | Filling | Edible weight | Calories | Calories per 100 g | |---|---|---|---|---|---|---| | Bayless Basic Tamal Dough, pork | 59 g | 10.9 g | 12.7 g | 71 g | 192 | 268 | | MASECA Pork in Green Sauce | 75 g | 13.9 g | 15 g | 105 g | 268 | 256 | | USDA restaurant tamale (FNDDS) | not disclosed | not disclosed | not disclosed | 140 g | 244 | 174 | | Trader Joe's Pulled Pork (label) | not disclosed | not disclosed | not disclosed | 142 g | 340 | 239 |

Three things in that table are worth more than the calorie column. The lightest tamale is the densest. The heaviest tamale is not the highest in calories. And the two rows that describe what most people actually eat cannot be audited at all, because no restaurant and no freezer case tells you the lard-to-masa ratio.

The borderline cases and how to call them

The tamale nobody weighed

This is the common case and it has no clean answer. Applying 174 calories per 100 grams to an unweighed tamale imports an assumption about size that spans 71 to 166 grams in the records here — a factor of 2.3. Call it by weighing one from the same batch or the same restaurant, once, and reusing that weight. A kitchen scale settles in four seconds what estimation cannot settle at all.

The tamale with sauce on it

USDA's entry ends at the tamale. Salsa roja, crema and queso fresco arrive after the measurement and belong in a separate line. Call it by counting the tamale and the topping separately, then adding.

The meatless tamale that costs more

Tamale, no meat is 186 calories per 100 grams against the meat entries' 174, with 26.68 grams of carbohydrate instead of 15.80 and 7.21 grams of fat instead of 9.04. Removing the meat removed protein and left more masa in its place. Call it by treating "vegetarian" as a statement about the filling only, never about the calories.

The tamale from someone else's kitchen

A homemade tamale can be anywhere from 71 to 105 grams and from 192 to 268 calories on nothing but the two published recipes above. Call it by asking one question: how many tamales did this batch make, and how much lard went into the masa. Those two numbers give you a better answer than any database entry.

How to count a tamale you made yourself

  1. Weigh the tamale with the husk or leaf removed. That weight is what USDA calls the edible portion, and its refuse figure of 0 percent confirms the wrapper was never included.
  2. Multiply by 1.74 for a meat tamale or 1.86 for a meatless one to get the USDA baseline in calories.
  3. Divide the lard in your recipe by the number of tamales the batch produced, then multiply those grams by 9.02. That is the lard's contribution to one tamale.
  4. Weigh the filling from one opened tamale and multiply by the USDA figure for that meat per 100 grams: 2.92 for roasted pork shoulder, 1.65 for roasted chicken breast.
  5. Add the masa flour's contribution — grams of flour per tamale times 3.63 — to steps 3 and 4, then compare that total against step 2. When the two disagree by more than 20 percent, trust the one you weighed.

Frequently asked questions

Can I eat tamales while trying to lose weight?

Yes. One 140-gram tamale is 244 calories by USDA's figure, which fits inside most deficits if you count it. The trap is size and lard. A 142-gram Trader Joe's pulled pork tamale is 340 calories, and three of them is a meal's worth of energy before anything else reaches the plate.

Are tamales healthy or unhealthy?

A tamale is corn and fat. USDA's entry carries 9.04 grams of fat and 473 milligrams of sodium per 100 grams, so two tamales pass 1,300 milligrams of sodium. The same entry gives 2.4 grams of fiber per 100 grams. Neither label fits cleanly, and the sodium is the number worth watching.

How many calories are in five tamales?

Five tamales at USDA's 140-gram item come to 1,218 calories. At the 142-gram serving Trader Joe's prints on its pulled pork tamales, five come to 1,700. Weigh one tamale from your own batch and multiply by five rather than trusting either figure, because size varies more than filling does.

How many calories are in a homemade chicken tamale?

About 176 calories, for a tamale built on Rick Bayless's Basic Tamal Dough: 59 grams of masa carrying 155 calories, plus 13 grams of roasted chicken breast at 21. The dough accounts for 88 percent of the total. Larger tamales scale directly, so 100 grams of the same dough runs near 265.

How many calories are in a cheese tamale?

Trader Joe's cheese and green chile tamale is 290 calories for one 142-gram piece. USDA has no cheese entry at all; its meatless corn tamale is 186 calories per 100 grams, or 260 at 140 grams. Cheese adds fat to a masa that already carries lard, putting cheese tamales near the pork end.

How many calories are in a homemade pork tamale?

About 192 calories on Bayless's dough: 155 from 59 grams of masa, 37 from 13 grams of roasted pork shoulder. On MASECA's own banana-leaf recipe the tamale is larger, 105 grams, and reaches 268. Same name, same filling, 76 calories apart because the masa portion differs.

Shoshana Kanellos
IdeasForLifePaint Media
AboutContactPrivacy
© IdeasForLifePaint Media